Free CITB Health, Safety and Environment (HS&E) Test for Managers and Professionals Practice Questions
100 free questions · Answer explanations · No signup required
View examination details, outline and sourcesLoading selected examination banks…
Sample Practice Questions
Try these 10 sample questions from the CITB Health, Safety and Environment (HS&E) Test for Managers and Professionals practice bank. Each includes the answer and explanation. Continue with the interactive practice above to review the full question set.
1A manager compares the likelihood of a worker being struck by a reversing vehicle with the possible severity of injury. What is this assessment evaluating?
- A.The hazard
- B.The level of riskCorrect answer: B
- C.The control measure
- D.The safe system of work
Explanation: The source states: "Once you have identified the hazards, decide how likely it is that someone could be harmed and how serious it could be. This is assessing the level of risk." Likelihood and severity determine the level of risk; the reversing vehicle is the hazard.
Reference: HSE Steps needed to manage risk — Assess the risks
2A manager assesses daily average noise exposure from powered cutting equipment. At which level does HSE say hearing protection and hearing protection zones must be provided?
- A.80 dB(A)
- B.85 dB(A)Correct answer: B
- C.87 dB(A)
- D.90 dB(A)
Explanation: HSE states: "The level at which employers must provide hearing protection and hearing protection zones is 85 dB(A) (daily or weekly average exposure)" 85 dB(A) is the upper action level. The lower action value and exposure limit are different thresholds.
Reference: HSE Noise at work regulations — The Control of Noise at Work Regulations 2005
3A manager specifies a 110 V centre-tapped-to-earth supply for site tools. What maximum voltage to earth is intended by this system?
- A.55 VCorrect answer: A
- B.110 V
- C.230 V
- D.400 V
Explanation: HSE states: "You should use cordless tools or those that operate from a 110V centre tapped to earth (CTE) supply system so that the maximum voltage to earth does not exceed 55V." The centre tap halves the 110 V voltage relative to earth.
Reference: HSE Electricity: Systems in buildings — Portable electrical equipment
4A construction scaffold platform needs edge protection. What is the minimum top-guardrail height above the platform specified in HSE's construction guidance?
- A.470 mm
- B.900 mm
- C.950 mmCorrect answer: C
- D.1100 mm
Explanation: HSE states: "For construction work, the top guardrail should be a minimum of 950mm above the working platform and any gap between the top rail and the intermediate rail should not exceed 470mm." 950 mm is the minimum height, rather than the intermediate-rail gap or a higher compliant height.
Reference: HSE Construction work at height FAQs — How high should the guardrails on a scaffold be?
5A site in England improves ordering accuracy so surplus material never becomes waste. Which stage of the waste hierarchy does this implement?
- A.PreventionCorrect answer: A
- B.Reuse
- C.Recycling
- D.Other recovery
Explanation: The guidance states: "keep waste to a minimum by doing everything you reasonably can to prevent, reuse, recycle or recover waste (in that order)" Avoiding the production of waste is prevention, which comes before managing material that has already become waste.
Reference: GOV.UK Business waste responsibilities — Your responsibilities
6A commercial client commissions a project involving two contractors. Which pair of CDM appointments is required in addition to selecting the contractors and designers?
- A.Principal designer and principal contractorCorrect answer: A
- B.Planning consultant and building control surveyor
- C.Principal designer and site first aider
- D.Principal contractor and insurance surveyor
7A contractor removes the need to cut masonry on site by specifying factory-cut units. Which level of risk control does this achieve for the on-site cutting hazard?
- A.Substitution of the cutting method
- B.Engineering control of the cutting task
- C.Administrative control of the cutting task
- D.Elimination of the cutting taskCorrect answer: D
8A manager checks compliance with the 87 dB(A) daily or weekly noise exposure limit. Which exposure measure must be compared with this limit?
- A.Daily or weekly exposure before allowing for hearing protection
- B.Peak sound pressure after allowing for hearing protection
- C.Daily or weekly exposure after allowing for hearing protectionCorrect answer: C
- D.Peak sound pressure before allowing for hearing protection
Explanation: HSE states: "There is also an exposure limit value of 87 dB(A), taking account of any reduction in exposure provided by hearing protection, above which workers must not be exposed." Compare daily or weekly exposure after attenuation, rather than unprotected exposure or a peak sound-pressure measure.
Reference: HSE Noise at work regulations — The Control of Noise at Work Regulations 2005
9An RCD is selected to provide additional protection against electric shock. What maximum tripping current does HSE recommend for reducing injury to people?
- A.10 mA
- B.30 mACorrect answer: B
- C.100 mA
- D.300 mA
Explanation: HSE states: "To reduce the likelihood of injury to people the RCD should have a tripping current of not more than 30 milliamps (mA)." The question asks the highest recommended value; 10 mA is lower, not the maximum, and 100/300 mA exceed it.
Reference: HSE Work using electrically powered equipment — Residual current devices
10A scaffold remains in use for construction after its first-use inspection. Assuming no event requires an earlier inspection, what is the longest regular inspection interval stated by HSE?
- A.3 days
- B.7 daysCorrect answer: B
- C.14 days
- D.28 days
Explanation: HSE states: "A scaffold used for construction should be inspected before it is used for the first time and then every 7 days, until it is removed." The routine interval is seven days; deterioration, adverse weather or substantial alteration can require earlier inspection.
Reference: HSE Construction work at height FAQs — How often should a scaffold be inspected?
Exam Review
About CITB Health, Safety and Environment (HS&E) Test for Managers and Professionals
CITB Health, Safety and Environment (HS&E) Test for Managers and Professionals · GB
Key exam facts
- Provider
- CITB (Construction Industry Training Board) owns the HS&E test; Pearson provides booking and delivery on CITB's behalf. Delivery is through Pearson Professional Centres and CITB-approved Internet Test Centres.
- Format
- Computer-delivered multiple-choice knowledge test at an approved test centre; no practical demonstration. The official sources do not publish percentages for different multiple-choice presentation styles.
- Exam questions
- Total questions: 50.
- Time limit
- 45 minutes of test time under standard conditions. The on-screen tutorial takes place before the test. Approved reader, reader-recorder or BSL support may provide extra time; the support page does not specify a single universal adjusted duration.
- Passing score
- 90%: at least 45 of the 50 questions must be answered correctly.
- Exam fee
- GBP £23.50 per HS&E test under the standard CITB booking terms, including a resit booked as a new test. Additional adjustment charges may apply under condition 7; interpreter costs are covered for the first eligible test only and charged for subsequent tests. Revision products and card applications are separate.
Topics covered
Legal and management
Health and welfare
General safety
High risk activities
Environment
Specialist activities
- Construction (Design and Management) Regulations
- Demolition
- Highway works
How to prepare
Work through the topics, read the explanation after each answer, and revisit the areas where you miss questions. Use the official outline and reference materials below to guide your study.
These independent practice questions are not actual exam items and do not guarantee a passing result.
Frequently asked questions
What is the exam format?
Computer-delivered multiple-choice knowledge test at an approved test centre; no practical demonstration. The official sources do not publish percentages for different multiple-choice presentation styles.
How many questions are on the exam?
Total questions: 50.
How long is the exam?
45 minutes of test time under standard conditions. The on-screen tutorial takes place before the test. Approved reader, reader-recorder or BSL support may provide extra time; the support page does not specify a single universal adjusted duration.
What is the passing score?
90%: at least 45 of the 50 questions must be answered correctly.
How much does the exam cost?
GBP £23.50 per HS&E test under the standard CITB booking terms, including a resit booked as a new test. Additional adjustment charges may apply under condition 7; interpreter costs are covered for the first eligible test only and charged for subsequent tests. Revision products and card applications are separate.
Official sources and references
- CITB GT200-V11 eBook publication overview
Publication Overview
- CITB GT200-V11 eBook publication overview
Publication Overview — specialist activities
- CITB Managers and Professionals test
About the Managers and Professionals test — key areas
- CITB Managers and Professionals test
Structure of the tests
- CITB Managers and Professionals test
About the Managers and Professionals test
- CITB Internet Test Centre Scheme Rules
Appendix 1, printed page 17
- CITB Test Booking Terms and Conditions
Conditions 3.1–3.2
- CITB Test Booking Terms and Conditions
Condition 2.4
- CITB Booking your HS&E test
Booking your HS&E test
- CITB Support for the HS&E test
Reasonable adjustments
Confirm current exam arrangements with the exam provider.