OpenExamsFREE PRACTICE — ANY EXAM

CITB Health, Safety and Environment (HS&E) Test for Managers and Professionals — Information & Free Practice

100 free questions · Answer explanations · No signup required

Start free practice →

Exam Review

About CITB Health, Safety and Environment (HS&E) Test for Managers and Professionals

CITB Health, Safety and Environment (HS&E) Test for Managers and Professionals · GB

Key exam facts

Provider
CITB (Construction Industry Training Board) owns the HS&E test; Pearson provides booking and delivery on CITB's behalf. Delivery is through Pearson Professional Centres and CITB-approved Internet Test Centres.
Format
Computer-delivered multiple-choice knowledge test at an approved test centre; no practical demonstration. The official sources do not publish percentages for different multiple-choice presentation styles.
Exam questions
Total questions: 50.
Time limit
45 minutes of test time under standard conditions. The on-screen tutorial takes place before the test. Approved reader, reader-recorder or BSL support may provide extra time; the support page does not specify a single universal adjusted duration.
Passing score
90%: at least 45 of the 50 questions must be answered correctly.
Exam fee
GBP £23.50 per HS&E test under the standard CITB booking terms, including a resit booked as a new test. Additional adjustment charges may apply under condition 7; interpreter costs are covered for the first eligible test only and charged for subsequent tests. Revision products and card applications are separate.

Topics covered

  • Legal and management

  • Health and welfare

  • General safety

  • High risk activities

  • Environment

  • Specialist activities

    • Construction (Design and Management) Regulations
    • Demolition
    • Highway works

How to prepare

Work through the topics, read the explanation after each answer, and revisit the areas where you miss questions. Use the official outline and reference materials below to guide your study.

These independent practice questions are not actual exam items and do not guarantee a passing result.

Frequently asked questions

What is the exam format?

Computer-delivered multiple-choice knowledge test at an approved test centre; no practical demonstration. The official sources do not publish percentages for different multiple-choice presentation styles.

How many questions are on the exam?

Total questions: 50.

How long is the exam?

45 minutes of test time under standard conditions. The on-screen tutorial takes place before the test. Approved reader, reader-recorder or BSL support may provide extra time; the support page does not specify a single universal adjusted duration.

What is the passing score?

90%: at least 45 of the 50 questions must be answered correctly.

How much does the exam cost?

GBP £23.50 per HS&E test under the standard CITB booking terms, including a resit booked as a new test. Additional adjustment charges may apply under condition 7; interpreter costs are covered for the first eligible test only and charged for subsequent tests. Revision products and card applications are separate.

Official sources and references

Confirm current exam arrangements with the exam provider.