Free Autodesk Certified Professional in Revit for Electrical Design Practice Questions
100 free questions · Answer explanations · No signup required
View examination details, outline and sourcesLoading selected examination banks…
Sample Practice Questions
Try these 10 sample questions from the Autodesk Certified Professional in Revit for Electrical Design practice bank. Each includes the answer and explanation. Continue with the interactive practice above to review the full question set.
1A lighting fixture's connector falls outside its intended space. Which family setting can be enabled and positioned inside the space to determine the fixture's space association?
- A.Room Calculation PointCorrect answer: A
- B.Work Plane
- C.Connector orientation
- D.Light source origin
2According to Autodesk's lighting placement guidance, what can happen to a wall-based sconce in a floor plan when the cut plane is below its mounting height?
- A.It must display as cut geometry.
- B.It may not display in the plan.Correct answer: B
- C.It must display regardless of the cut plane.
- D.It displays only when the plane is below the fixture.
Explanation: Autodesk explains: "In a floor plan view, wall-based lighting fixtures (such as sconces) may not display if the cut plane of the floor plan view occurs below the height at which the fixture is mounted to the wall." Check the plan cut plane relative to the sconce's height.
Reference: Add a Lighting Fixture to a Building Model — When placing the lighting fixture, consider the following
3Why use a type catalog when loading a component family with many sizes?
- A.To select and load only needed family typesCorrect answer: A
- B.To force every listed family type to load
- C.To load parameter names without loading any types
- D.To load only the first type listed in the catalog
Explanation: Autodesk explains: "A type catalog lists all of the types in a family, allowing you to select and load only the types you need for the current project, resulting in a smaller project file size." Selecting only required types limits unnecessary project content.
4A load classification has 10 kVA connected to a panel and its subpanels. If its applicable demand factor is a constant 80%, what is its demand load?
- A.8 kVACorrect answer: A
- B.10 kVA
- C.12.5 kVA
- D.18 kVA
Explanation: Autodesk defines: "Demand Load = the result of the specified demand factor being applied to the sum of all loads attached to the panel (directly or to subpanels) from connectors assigned to that load classification" Applying 0.8 to 10 kVA yields 8 kVA.
Reference: Load Calculations — For a load classification on a panel
5A CAD reference is expected to change, and its updates should be available in Revit by reloading. How should it be brought into the project?
- A.Link the CAD file.Correct answer: A
- B.Import and explode the CAD file.
- C.Import the CAD file without linking.
- D.Import the CAD file and replace the import after changes.
6While placing electrical devices, which ribbon setting adds their tags automatically as the devices are placed?
- A.Leader
- B.Tag on PlacementCorrect answer: B
- C.Place on Face
- D.Place on Work Plane
7A template is assigned to a view, and a controlled setting in that template is later changed. What happens to the linked view?
- A.The changed template setting is applied to it.Correct answer: A
- B.The view keeps the old setting until the template is reapplied.
- C.The template is detached from the view.
- D.The view becomes a dependent view of the template.
8The project and the component family are stored in different folders. Where must the type catalog be placed so it appears when loading that family?
- A.In the folder containing the family fileCorrect answer: A
- B.Only in the folder containing the project file
- C.Only in the parent of the family folder
- D.Only in a separate annotation library folder
9Which loads contribute to a panel's total connected load for a specified classification?
- A.Matching loads on the panel and its downstream child panelsCorrect answer: A
- B.Only matching loads directly connected to the panel
- C.Only matching loads on unrelated upstream panels
- D.All loads regardless of classification on the panel alone
Explanation: Autodesk states: "For Total Connected Load on a panel, all loads of the same load classification connected below that panel (to either the panel directly, or to any child or grand-child panels connected up to the panel) are summed." Both direct and downstream matching loads are included.
Reference: Load Calculations — Calculations performed per panel
10Which Manage Links action temporarily removes a linked file's display while preserving the link?
Exam Review
About Autodesk Certified Professional in Revit for Electrical Design
Autodesk Certified Professional in Revit for Electrical Design · US
Key exam facts
- Provider
- Pearson VUE
- Format
- English; proctored selected-response examination without access to Revit; Pearson testing center or Pearson OnVUE.
- Exam questions
- Total questions: 45–60.
- Time limit
- 120 minutes
- Passing score
- Pass/fail; the passing score is not disclosed before the examination.
- Exam fee
- US$200 standard retail price; applicable taxes and regional pricing may vary.
Topics covered
Modeling (26%)
- Add equipment and fixtures
- Create electrical systems
- Model connecting geometry
Documentation (24%)
- Manipulate views
- Use annotations
Families (22%)
- Model family elements
- Model annotation families
- Add parameters
Analysis (10%)
- Perform analysis
Collaboration (18%)
- Use reference files
- Define worksharing concepts
- Collaborate with others
How to prepare
Work through the topics, read the explanation after each answer, and revisit the areas where you miss questions. Use the official outline and reference materials below to guide your study.
These independent practice questions are not actual exam items and do not guarantee a passing result.
Frequently asked questions
What is the exam format?
English; proctored selected-response examination without access to Revit; Pearson testing center or Pearson OnVUE.
How many questions are on the exam?
Total questions: 45–60.
How long is the exam?
120 minutes
What is the passing score?
Pass/fail; the passing score is not disclosed before the examination.
How much does the exam cost?
US$200 standard retail price; applicable taxes and regional pricing may vary.
Official sources and references
- Autodesk certification details
Required skill sets / View exam objectives hyperlink to submitted objectives PDF
- Revit electrical design exam objectives
page 2 / Exam outline and domain-weight table
- Revit electrical design exam objectives
pages 2-5 / complete Exam objectives, domains 1-5, including all lettered and roman-numeral descendants
- Autodesk certification details
Certification FAQs / exam format and scoring
- Autodesk certification details
Certification FAQs / How is my exam scored?
- Revit electrical design exam objectives
page 2 / Exam format
- Autodesk certification details
Certification Details / time, price, question count and language
- Autodesk certification details
Take an exam and earn your certification / testing, proctoring and account
- Autodesk certification details
Trusted, industry-validated process; Register with your Autodesk Account
- Autodesk certification overview
FAQ / How do I get certification from Autodesk? / Associate, Professional, and Expert exams
- Autodesk Certification Candidate Agreement
page 1 / CANDIDATE CODE OF CONDUCT / age and guardian consent
- Revit electrical design exam objectives
page 1 / Target audience and Prerequisite skills
- Autodesk certification support
FAQ: Your certification exam / voucher redemption
Confirm current exam arrangements with the exam provider.