OpenExamsFREE PRACTICE — ANY EXAM

Singapore–Cambridge GCE A-Level H1 Physics (8867) — Information & Free Practice

100 free questions · Answer explanations · No signup required

Start free practice →

Exam Review

About Singapore–Cambridge GCE A-Level H1 Physics (8867)

Singapore–Cambridge GCE A-Level H1 Physics (8867) · SG

Key exam facts

Provider
Joint examining authorities: Singapore Examinations and Assessment Board (SEAB), Singapore Ministry of Education (MOE) and Cambridge International Education.
Format
Two written papers, both required. Paper 1: 30 direct-choice questions with four options. Paper 2: structured questions, including compulsory data-based questions and a choice of one of two 20-mark questions. No practical examination paper.
Time limit
Paper 1: 1 hour. Paper 2: 2 hours. Total standard answering time: 3 hours across the two papers.
Passing score
Grades A to E are subject passes (E is the lowest pass); S (Sub-pass) and Ungraded are not passes. The cited official grading response does not specify a fixed raw-mark or percentage pass threshold.
Exam fee
Fees depend on candidate status and citizenship. For school candidates, citizenship on the registration closing date determines the fee, with individual amounts shown on the registration slip. The 2026 school-candidate booklet waives examination fees for Singapore Citizens by its 21 April 2026 closing date; this is not a confirmed 2027 amount or deadline. SEAB directs candidates to March 2027 for 2027 registration details; no single 2027 fee is asserted.

Topics covered

  • Foundations of Physics

    • Quantities and Measurement
    • Forces and Moments
    • Motion and Forces
    • Energy and Fields
  • Mechanics

    • Projectile Motion
    • Collisions
    • Circular Motion
  • Electricity and Magnetism

    • Currents
    • Circuits
    • Electromagnetism
  • Modern Physics

    • Nuclear Physics

How to prepare

Work through the topics, read the explanation after each answer, and revisit the areas where you miss questions. Use the official outline and reference materials below to guide your study.

These independent practice questions are not actual exam items and do not guarantee a passing result.

Frequently asked questions

What is the exam format?

Two written papers, both required. Paper 1: 30 direct-choice questions with four options. Paper 2: structured questions, including compulsory data-based questions and a choice of one of two 20-mark questions. No practical examination paper.

How long is the exam?

Paper 1: 1 hour. Paper 2: 2 hours. Total standard answering time: 3 hours across the two papers.

What is the passing score?

Grades A to E are subject passes (E is the lowest pass); S (Sub-pass) and Ungraded are not passes. The cited official grading response does not specify a fixed raw-mark or percentage pass threshold.

How much does the exam cost?

Fees depend on candidate status and citizenship. For school candidates, citizenship on the registration closing date determines the fee, with individual amounts shown on the registration slip. The 2026 school-candidate booklet waives examination fees for Singapore Citizens by its 21 April 2026 closing date; this is not a confirmed 2027 amount or deadline. SEAB directs candidates to March 2027 for 2027 registration details; no single 2027 fee is asserted.

Official sources and references

Confirm current exam arrangements with the exam provider.