OpenExamsFREE PRACTICE — ANY EXAM

OPC Prosthetics Written Certification Examination — Information & Free Practice

100 free questions · Answer explanations · No signup required

Start free practice →

Exam Review

About OPC Prosthetics Written Certification Examination

OPC Prosthetics Written Certification Examination · CA

Key exam facts

Provider
Orthotics Prosthetics Canada (OPC); certification is managed by its independent Certification and Registration Board, with its Professional Qualifications Committee.
Format
Online written multiple-choice examination, completed virtually; the clinical prosthetics written exam is scored independently of the practical examination. The handbook describes approximately 150 equally weighted multiple-choice questions; the exact total is not established.
Time limit
3 hours of written examination time under the standard conditions; disability accommodations are considered individually.
Passing score
Criterion-referenced cut score established by subject matter experts for entry-to-practice performance. Score is based on the number answered correctly, compared with the pass/fail score. The handbook does not disclose a numeric cut score.
Exam fee
For the published February 12 and September 10, 2027 Certification written sittings: CAD 562.75 examination fee plus CAD 174.84 application fee. OPC states fees increase 3% annually; fees are payable in Canadian funds. These are the published forthcoming sitting fees.

Topics covered

  • Patient Evaluation (17%)

    • Obtain consent to treatment
    • Conduct patient interview by taking a comprehensive patient history
    • Review professional reports
    • Conduct physical examination
    • Perform static evaluation
    • Perform dynamic evaluation
    • Review patient goals and expectations
    • Identify and administer outcome measurement tools to determine baseline
    • Obtain information regarding patient from other health care professionals, including technicians
    • Document patient evaluation
  • Treatment Planning (15%)

    • Refer patient for intervention beyond prosthetic/orthotic scope of practice
    • Research treatment options including evidence from literature
    • Research manufacturer specifications, materials, components, design, and fabrication techniques
    • Review treatment options with patient including potential trial of components
    • Collaborate with other health care professionals regarding treatment options
    • Develop a treatment plan based on patient evaluation, needs, and treatment goals
    • Communicate treatment plan and ensure patient understands responsibilities
    • Document treatment plan
  • Treatment Implementation and Evaluation (36%)

    • Provide preparatory care
    • Select materials/techniques for shape capture and measurements
    • Prepare patient for shape capture and measurements
    • Perform shape capture and measurements
    • Modify anatomical model or image
    • Fabricate/assemble prosthesis for initial or diagnostic evaluation
    • Ensure materials, design, and components follow treatment plan
    • Assess structural integrity prior to diagnostic evaluation
    • Ensure manufacturers guidelines and instructions for use followed
    • Perform bench alignment
    • Perform static and dynamic alignment with patient
    • Assess fit, function, control, and support
    • Arrange trial period after assuring structural soundness
    • Complete fabrication after achieving optimal fit and function
    • Re-assess structural safety and integrity prior to patient use
    • Administer outcome measurement tools and compare to baseline
    • Educate patient about use and maintenance
    • Refer patient for necessary ancillary care
    • Educate and work with other health care professionals regarding patient treatment
    • Document treatment implementation
  • Ongoing Treatment and Re-evaluation (29%)

    • Obtain patient feedback to evaluate outcome
    • Re-assess patient and note changes
    • Assess strategic contact and physical presentation relative to treatment goals
    • Evaluate structural changes
    • Re-administer outcome measures to assess achievement of treatment goals
    • Discuss ongoing treatment plan to modify or replace prosthesis
    • Modify prosthesis, components, or interface
    • Repair, restore, or refurbish prosthesis, components, or interface
    • Replace prosthesis, components, or interface
    • Assess structural safety after modification, repair, or replacement
    • Evaluate modified prosthesis statically and dynamically
    • Reassess patient knowledge on use
    • Communicate ongoing treatment and outcomes with stakeholders
    • Document treatment
    • Document outcomes
  • Professional Practice (3%)

    • Abide by CBCPO Character and Fitness Rules and Canons of Ethical Conduct
    • Establish or adhere to legally compliant patient care procedures
    • Develop, implement, or monitor organizational policies and procedures
    • Conduct or participate in research, product development, clinical trials, and outcome studies
    • Collaborate with health care professionals and stakeholders

How to prepare

Work through the topics, read the explanation after each answer, and revisit the areas where you miss questions. Use the official outline and reference materials below to guide your study.

These independent practice questions are not actual exam items and do not guarantee a passing result.

Frequently asked questions

What is the exam format?

Online written multiple-choice examination, completed virtually; the clinical prosthetics written exam is scored independently of the practical examination. The handbook describes approximately 150 equally weighted multiple-choice questions; the exact total is not established.

How long is the exam?

3 hours of written examination time under the standard conditions; disability accommodations are considered individually.

What is the passing score?

Criterion-referenced cut score established by subject matter experts for entry-to-practice performance. Score is based on the number answered correctly, compared with the pass/fail score. The handbook does not disclose a numeric cut score.

How much does the exam cost?

For the published February 12 and September 10, 2027 Certification written sittings: CAD 562.75 examination fee plus CAD 174.84 application fee. OPC states fees increase 3% annually; fees are payable in Canadian funds. These are the published forthcoming sitting fees.

Official sources and references

Confirm current exam arrangements with the exam provider.