OpenExamsFREE PRACTICE — ANY EXAM

NDEB Virtual OSCE — Information & Free Practice

100 free questions · Answer explanations · No signup required

Start free practice →

Exam Review

About NDEB Virtual OSCE

NDEB Virtual OSCE · CA

Key exam facts

Provider
The National Dental Examining Board of Canada (NDEB) develops and administers the examination. Prometric provides test-centre delivery for May and November Canadian/US administrations.
Format
Computer-based examination with standard single-answer multiple-choice and case-based questions; case-based questions may use single-answer, multi-answer or short-answer prescription formats. This bank uses four-option single-answer knowledge practice and does not simulate all official response formats.
Exam questions
Total questions: 200.
Time limit
Six-hour examination with one scheduled break. Check-in is separate; the Protocol does not specify a separate break duration or net answering time.
Passing score
Minimum test-equated, re-scaled score of 75. This is a standardized score, not a raw percentage.
Exam fee
CAD 1,750 examination fee, effective July 1, 2025 and subject to change; the separate one-time application fee is CAD 450.

Topics covered

The authority publishes percentage ranges for each content area. The practice percentages below use the midpoint of each range, normalized to 100%; they are not exact percentages published by the authority. Practice question counts may differ slightly because of rounding.

  • Operative Dentistry — Official range: 11–21% (Practice allocation: 16%)

  • Periodontics — Official range: 9–19% (Practice allocation: 14%)

  • Oral Medicine and Pathology — Official range: 7–17% (Practice allocation: 12%)

  • Pain — Official range: 7–17% (Practice allocation: 12%)

  • Prevention and management of medical emergencies including management of medically complex patients — Official range: 7–17% (Practice allocation: 12%)

  • Endodontics — Official range: 5–15% (Practice allocation: 10%)

  • Prosthodontics — Official range: 5–15% (Practice allocation: 10%)

  • Surgery — Official range: 3–13% (Practice allocation: 8%)

  • Orthodontics — Official range: 1–11% (Practice allocation: 6%)

How to prepare

Work through the topics, read the explanation after each answer, and revisit the areas where you miss questions. Use the official outline and reference materials below to guide your study.

These independent practice questions are not actual exam items and do not guarantee a passing result.

Frequently asked questions

What is the exam format?

Computer-based examination with standard single-answer multiple-choice and case-based questions; case-based questions may use single-answer, multi-answer or short-answer prescription formats. This bank uses four-option single-answer knowledge practice and does not simulate all official response formats.

How many questions are on the exam?

Total questions: 200.

How long is the exam?

Six-hour examination with one scheduled break. Check-in is separate; the Protocol does not specify a separate break duration or net answering time.

What is the passing score?

Minimum test-equated, re-scaled score of 75. This is a standardized score, not a raw percentage.

How much does the exam cost?

CAD 1,750 examination fee, effective July 1, 2025 and subject to change; the separate one-time application fee is CAD 450.

Official sources and references

Confirm current exam arrangements with the exam provider.